Our cohort could not have made this guide without the expertise of the librarians and library staff who operate the Smathers Libraries on a daily basis. We would like to thank everyone we interviewed in the process of making this guide, specifically Rachael Elrod, April Hines, Hannah Norton, John Nemmers, and Val Minson.

We’d also like to thank everyone who presented a seminar to our cohort and introduced us to the myriad of work being done at the Smathers Libraries, both visibly to students and behind the scenes. These seminars taught us how much there is to learn about our libraries and inspired us to share our new knowledge with our peers through this guide. Thank you to Lisa Campbell, Perry Collins, Fletcher Durant, April Hines, Twanna Hodge, Danielle Johnson, Val Minson, S. Moxy Moczygemba, Melody Royster, Lourdes Santamaría-Wheeler, and Hao Ye.

Thank you to those who contributed photographs to this guide! We are grateful to Katiana Bagué, Lisa Campbell, Robin Fowler, Rebecca Jefferson, Brittany Kester, S. Moxy Moczygemba, and Sarah Prentice. Photos were also contributed by the Library West and Exhibits. Their photos are credited in the captions where they were featured. Unspecified photos were taken by the student cohort and advisors. We are also grateful to Tracy MacKay-Ratliff for design of the book cover.

Thank you to LibraryPress@UF for supporting this student-led publication! We are especially grateful to Chelsea Johnston and Laurie Taylor who helped us turn this project into an ebook and guided us through the publication process.

Special thank you to ULA 2022 cohort member Jenifer Mejia who reviewed the Guide and gave feedback. We appreciate your contributions to this work!

Finally, we would like to thank our amazing advisors, Alexandrea Glenn and Michelle Nolan. Thank you for guiding and supporting our cohort throughout this entire process, every step of the way. We are so grateful to you both.


Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License

Undergraduate Guide to the George A. Smathers Libraries Copyright © 2022 by Nabil M. Chowdhury; Ava K. Kaplan; Cassidy Smith; Omolola Suleiman; Alexandrea Glenn; and Michelle M. Nolan is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book